The Abbey Newsletter

Volume 25, Number 4
Dec 2001


Doris A. Hamburg has been selected as Director of Preservation Programs at the National Archives and Records Administration, according to a May 9 NARA press release. She is responsible for overseeing preservation, conservation, and reproduction programs at the National Archives' 24 facilities nationwide. She will create standards and policies relating to the preservation of all archival media, including paper, photographic film, magnetic tape and objects.

Margaret Holben Ellis has been appointed as first director of the Thaw Conservation Center at the Morgan Library in New York City. (The laboratory is for conservation studies, as well as treatment of works of art on paper.) She will continue her teaching and research at the NYU Conservation Center, but has relinquished her chairmanship there.

Gregory Lukow started work as Assistant Chief of the Motion Picture, Broadcasting and Recorded Sound Division of the Library of Congress, about a year ago.

Jim Lindner has been working hard over the past two or three years to establish the National Television and Video Preservation Foundation (NTVPF). He and the Association of Moving Image Archivists (AMIA) have been drawing together an advisory board to guide the Foundation and recruit a fundraising team. The NTVPF's work will parallel that of the National Film Preservation Foundation, with the difference that it is an independent nonprofit organization, while the NFPF was established by an act of Congress.

Jim Wheeler ( is chair of AMIA's Preservation Committee and contributes a column on preservation to the AMIA newsletter.

Anne R. Kenney and Oya Y. Rieger of Cornell University won the Society of American Archivists' Waldo Gifford Leland Award for writing of superior excellence and usefulness. Their publication is Moving Theory into Practice: Digital Imaging for Libraries and Archives (Research Libraries Group, 2000).

Gregory S. Hunter received SAA's 2001 Preservation Publication Award for Preserving Digital Information: a How-To-Do-It Manual (Neal-Schuman Publishers, 2000).

Amparo R. de Torres, special projects officer, Conservation Division, Library of Congress, received the Rutherford John Gettens Merit Award on June 1 at the AIC meeting in Dallas. the AIC bestows this award for outstanding service to AIC and the field of conservation. Over the last 12 years, de Torres has worked to build bridges between conservators in the Northern and Southern hemispheres, by lending her expertise to publishing, translating, and scholarship projects sponsored by the Library of Congress, the journal of the AIC, the IIC, the Getty Grant Program and other organizations.

Thomas F.R. Clareson has been named product manager of the Digital and Preservation Co-op, OCLC Digital and Preservation Resources, a new division of OCLC Online Computer Library Center, Inc., in Dublin, Ohio. He will help cultural institutions with the life cycle management of digital assets, from creation to long-term retention and access. For the past decade, he has been Imaging and Preservation Services Manager at Amigos, an OCLC-affiliated regional network, and has delivered over 40 presentations and workshops annually on various preservation issues.

 [Contents]  [Search]  [Abbey]

[Search all CoOL documents]