Conservation DistList Archives [Date] [Subject] [Author] [SEARCH]

Subject: Ross Atkinson Lifetime Achievement Award

Ross Atkinson Lifetime Achievement Award

From: Yvonne Carignan <carignan>
Date: Wednesday, October 11, 2006
The Ross Atkinson Lifetime Achievement Award

Definition, Purpose, and Criteria: The Award is established by the
Association for Library Collections and Technical Services (ALCTS)
to honor the legacy of Ross Atkinson, distinguished library leader,
author, and scholar, whose extraordinary service to ALCTS and the
library community at-large serves as a model for those who follow.

The award will be given to recognize the contribution of a library
leader who has demonstrated exceptional service to ALCTS and its
areas of interest (acquisitions, cataloging and classification,
collection management and development, preservation and
reformatting, and serials). Criteria for selection of the winner
will be determined by the person's accomplishments, as they relate
to leadership including, but not limited to:

    *   Recognized leadership in professional associations at local,
        state, regional or national level, with emphasis on the

    *   Acknowledged leader in and by the library

    *   Significant contribution to professional literature;

    *   Exemplary research in ALCTS areas;

    *   Recognition of achievements, e.g., awards, citations, etc.

Nominees must be ALCTS members.

Number and Frequency of Award: The award will be awarded annually to
one person. If a qualified candidate is not found, the award will
not be presented that year.

Selection of Jury to Administer the Award: The ALCTS President-Elect
will annually appoint an award jury. This jury will consist of five
members of the division and include persons who have a broad
background and experience in the division. Members serve one-year
terms, with the exception of one member who is appointed by the
ALCTS President-Elect to serve as chair of the jury the following
year. No person shall serve more than two consecutive years on the

Deadline for Nomination of Candidates: Written nominations must be
received by the Chair of the Award Jury no later than December 1 of
the year prior to the granting of the award.

Submission procedure: Nominations shall include:

    1.  Name, address, phone number and email address of nominee and
        nominating party

    2.  A formal statement of nomination, with a rationale for the

    3.  A resume, vita, or extensive narrative career outline upon
        which the award jury can base its determinations

    4.  Letters of endorsement.

Letters of endorsement from others should provide additional
evidence of the nominee's worthiness. The number of endorsement
letters received for a nominee shall not be a determining factor in
the selection process; rather, the evidence of the person's
accomplishments that they present shall be the factor considered. It
is recommended that no fewer than three and no more than six
endorsement letters be included.

Self-nominations will not be accepted.

Nominations for persons not selected for the award in one year may
be resubmitted in subsequent years.

Screening of Candidates and Recommendations: The Award Jury will
assess the nominees in closed session prior to and/or during the
Midwinter Meeting of the American Library Association and select the
recipient, using the criteria specified in item 2.

Presentation of the Award: The award recipient will be notified by
the jury chair following the Midwinter Meeting but no later than
March 1 so that appropriate ALA publicity efforts can be initiated.

The presentation will be made with other ALCTS awards at the ALCTS
Awards Ceremony (or other stated time) held during the American
Library Association Annual Conference.

Form and/or Type of Award: The award consists of $3,000 and a

Sponsor: Allen Powell (Kathleen Born), EBSCO

Current employees of the sponsor are not eligible for the award.


    Bonnie MacEwan
    Dean of Libraries
    RBD Library, Room 2021 G
    231 Mell Street
    Auburn University, AL 36849-5606
    Fax: 334-844-4424
    macewbj [at] auburn__edu

Yvonne Carignan
Head of Preservation
University of Maryland
McKeldin Library
College Park, MD 20742
carignan [at] umd__edu
Fax: 301-314-9971

                  Conservation DistList Instance 20:21
                Distributed: Wednesday, October 18, 2006
                       Message Id: cdl-20-21-001
Received on Wednesday, 11 October, 2006

[Search all CoOL documents]