Conservation DistList Archives [Date] [Subject] [Author] [SEARCH]

Subject: SHARP Book History Prize

SHARP Book History Prize

From: Jonathan Rose <jerose>
Date: Saturday, November 16, 1996
The Society for the History of Authorship, Reading and Publishing
announces the creation of the annual SHARP Book History Prize.  This
prize of $1000 will be awarded each year to the best book-length
monograph on the history of the book, broadly defined as the history
of the creation, dissemination, and uses of script or print.

The first competition will be for books published in 1996. Reference
works and collections of essays by more than one author are not
eligible.  All entries must be in English.  Translations into
English published in 1996 are eligible.

Submit three copies of each entry, one to each member of the prize
committee: Elisabeth S. Leedham-Green (chair), University Library,
West Road, Cambridge CB3 9DR, Britain; Robert L. Patten, English
Department, Rice University, PO Box 1892, Houston, TX 77251-1892,
USA; and Beth Luey, History Department, Arizona State University,
Tempe, AZ 85287-2501, USA. Book parcels should be marked "Attn:
SHARP Book Prize."  The submission deadline is 1 March 1997.  The
first prize will be announced at the July 1997 SHARP conference at
Cambridge University.

                  Conservation DistList Instance 10:48
                 Distributed: Monday, November 18, 1996
                       Message Id: cdl-10-48-025
Received on Saturday, 16 November, 1996

[Search all CoOL documents]