Conservation DistList Archives [Date] [Subject] [Author] [SEARCH]

Subject: Call for nominations--Esther J. Piercy Award

Call for nominations--Esther J. Piercy Award

From: Lisa Fox <lfox>
Date: Friday, October 7, 1994
The following message is being cross-posted to a number of lists.
Please forgive the duplication.  Also, be mindful that three Piercy
Awards have gone to preservation administrators: Pamela Darling (1979),
Jan Merrill-Oldham (1990), and Nancy Elkington (1994).

October 1, 1994

Dear Colleague:

The Piercy Award Jury of the Association for Library
Collections and Technical Services (ALCTS) is seeking nominations
for the 1995 Esther J. Piercy Award.

Esther J. Piercy was active in the Association and served for many years
as the editor of Journal of cataloging and classification and its
successor, Library resources and technical services.  The Piercy Award
was established in 1968 to recognize a librarian with less than ten
years professional experience who has shown notable leadership qualities
and the promise of continuing contributions to the field of technical
services.  In addition to a citation, the award carries with it a cash
grant of $1,500, generously provided by Yankee Book Peddler, Inc.

The Award Jury hopes you will take time to reflect on the talents and
achievements of colleagues and nominate a candidate who meets the Award
criteria.  Information on the nominating process as well as a list of
previous recipients accompanies this letter. Please submit nominations
by December 1, 1994.

    Wanda V. Dole, Chair
    1995 Esther J. Piercy Award Jury

1995 Esther J. Piercy Award - Nomination Procedure

The Esther J. Piercy Award is presented to a librarian with not more
than ten years of professional experience who has demonstrated
outstanding qualities of leadership and the promise of continuing
contributions to the field of technical services, including
acquisitions, cataloging and classification, collection management and
development, preservation and reproduction of library materials, and

Nominations shall be evaluated according to the following criteria:

    Leadership in professional associations

    Contributions to the development, application, or utilization of new
    or improved methods, techniques and routines

    Contribution to the professional literature

    Research and study in technical services

    Promise for continuing contributions and leadership in technical

    Letters of nomination and endorsement should be sent to the chair of
    the Award Jury no later than December 1, 1994 and should include:

    *   Name of nominee
    *   Date nominee entered first professional position
    *   Formal statement of nomination, with a brief rationale for the
    *   The nominee's resume or narrative career outline
    *   Letters of endorsement from others in support of the nomination

Resumes and letters of endorsement need not be submitted with the
nomination, but may be submitted under separate cover.

Nominations and supporting documentation may be submitted by mail, fax
or email to:

    Wanda Dole
    Chair, 1995 Piercy Award Jury
    W1520 Frank Melville, Jr. Memorial Library
    State University at Stony Brook
    Stony Brook, NY 11794-3300
    516-632-7100  fax: 516-632-7116
    email: wdole [at] ccmail__sunysb__edu

Esther J. Piercy Award Recipients

    1969    Richard M. Dougherty
    1970    John B. Corbin
    1971    John Philip Immroth
    1972    Carol A. Nemeyer
    1973    Glen A. Zimmerman
    1974    (No award)
    1975    John D. Byrum, Jr.
    1976    Ruth L. Tighe
    1977    (No award)
    1978    S. Michael Malinconico
    1979    Pamela Wood Darling
    1980    Nancy B. Olson
    1981    Sally H. McCallum
    1982    Nancy R. John
    1983    Sue A. Dodd
    1984    Lizbeth J. Bishoff
    1985    Stephen Wiberley
    1986    (No award)
    1987    John K. Duke
    1988    Karen Markey
    1989    Lisa B. Weber
    1990    Jan Merrill-Oldham
    1991    Carol Pitts Hawks
    1992    (No award)
    1993    Barbara W. Winters
    1994    Nancy E. Elkington

                  Conservation DistList Instance 8:26
                Distributed: Wednesday, October 12, 1994
                        Message Id: cdl-8-26-002
Received on Friday, 7 October, 1994

[Search all CoOL documents]